The Language Struggle

Hello internet! I’ve been in Japan for a month now and it’s taken me this long to sit down and put together a blog post. I hope to get in the habit of writing at least once a week. I think it will be a great way to stay connected with friends & family back home, beyond the couple of words I can put on instagram. It’s also a great record for me of my time here in Japan. It’s ALSO a good place to practice my English because I’ve already noticed myself saying things in strange, Yoda sounding ways, such as “Yes, cabbage it is.”

And if you think my English is bad, you should hear my Spanish now. It’s become some kind of Spanish-Japanese hybrid where I go in and out of both languages. Spango-nese? Who knows. Never has the language side of my brain been put to so much work.

The good news is that my Japanese vocabulary is expanding everyday. It’s been a struggle to sit down and study grammar but we’ve all signed up for a class twice a week after school that’s been helping. I’ve learned that I need structure when it comes to studying. I’m not always so great at being an independent learner.

I myself am amazed that I’m able to survive on the daily with the little Japanese I know. I owe a lot of that to the kindness of the people in Japan. God bless them for having the patience to deal with an adult who has the vocabulary of a 5 yr old.

Well, I still have mixed feelings on having a blog. There’s always been a little too much ego in the idea for me. Especially when it feels like you’re not adding anything to the conversation. But I’ll give this a go.

Leave a Reply

