Not-So-Guilty Pleasures

collage091315

What I’m reading: The Martian by Andy Weir 

A sci-fi drama with a sense of humor. This was recommended to me by Debbie (miss you) and I can’t wait for the movie coming out soon. You can watch the trailer here

What I’m buying: Camera Equipment 

I’ve always wanted to get myself a decent camera and when I realized I might spend this entire year in Japan with only iPhone photos, I knew it was time to make the jump. Lucky for me Japan is full of camera equipment at a lower cost than the U.S. Double lucky for me the U.S. dollar is doing very well compared to the yen. And triple lucky for me it’s almost my birthday. I am now the proud owner of a beautiful Nikon D5500. Thanks mom & dad for the early birthday gift. 

What I’m watching: Attack on Titan 

I really miss movies. So much so that I was willing to go watch one in Japanese. I picked one that looked VFX heavy since I figured I could understand at least 40% of it without knowing the dialogue (explosion = monster go boom. got it.) I later found out the movie is actually based on a popular manga & anime so in preparation for my movie trip, I gave it a watch and became addicted. You can check out the film trailer here

What I’m eating: Mango Popsicles from 7-11

Until recently, I couldn’t leave my house without carrying a sweat towel. (That’s not a joke. It was so hot.) To keep cool I’ve been snacking on these delicious popsicles from 7-11. Fruit is not as abundant in Japan as it is in California so every fruit flavored treat feels like a luxury. 

Now that the typhoon has passed, the humidity is finally going away. There’s a cool breeze in the air which means fall is right around the corner. I cannot wait! Scarves & beanies & changing leaves. I love fall. 

 

K♥

Leave a Reply

