Not-So-Guilty Pleasures

notsoguilty_012216

What I’m doing: Job Hunting

Our contract will be over in mid-March which means it’s back to the job hunt! I’m hoping to move to the Yokohama/Tokyo area. There are many English teacher postings on Gaijin Pot but I’m also interested in knowing if I can work in a creative field, like I did in LA, with my basic Japanese language skills. If anyone has any job site recommendations, I’d love to hear them. 

What I’m buying: Hand Warmers 

My Chicago days are long behind me so I forgot how brutal winters can be. Living in LA has weakened my tolerance for the cold. To keep warm in school, I’ve been buying hand warmers or Kairo (カイロ) . Toss two of these in the pockets of your sweater and your day will be infinitely better. The disposable versions typically last 8-10 hours and can be found in your local konbini. 

What I’m watching: The Walking Dead

I’m always late to the party when it comes to hit television shows and TWD is no exception. I’ve been curling up with a nice hot cup of tea and my daily dose of zombies to cure my winter blues. (Team Maggie + Glenn!) Nearly through Season 4 so no spoilers please! 

What I’m eating: Kibidango

The most famous character of Okayama is Momotaro. We’ve been reading this story in English at school and the constant talk of kibidango has made my craving strong. Kibidango are small delicious balls of mochi (basically rice flour and tons of butter and sugar) and I’ve eaten nearly two of these boxes. They also make a peach flavor and a version that’s covered in a peanut powder. I highly recommend picking up a box. 

 

This weekend we’re heading to the Kirin Beer Factory for a tour. Hope to come back with some fun pictures :) Have a nice weekend everyone!

K♥

Leave a Reply

